2 Week update

So it’s been around 2 weeks since I’ve started all this, and I’d like to share some of my initial thoughts…

  1. C++ is both beautiful and frustrating… I’d like to say this is because I’m new to it, but I’ve read a lot about experienced coders pulling their hair out over the most minor things. Yet at the same time, it seems to have such a rythym and flow.. again this perception might fade as I become more familiar with it.. time will tell I guess.
  2. I have a new and immense respect for indie game developers… When I was younger I might have looked at the lesser known games and thought they looked rubbish and put together badly. Now however, I’m on the other side of the fence and I can see just how much effort and time it takes to put together, and it makes me very excited to get going.
  3. I’ve found some incredibly helpful guides online, by people who obviously spend their life doing this, and I admire those those that take their own time to help other people get learning.
  4. I’ve got heaps of ideas rushing through my head about game ideas, I just want to get them all into code, and it’s infuriating not knowing how to do that yet, but also is a fantastic motivator to keep me learning.
  5. I’ve started looking into internships; as I’m out here in New Zealand it’d be fantastic to look at getting some experience before I head back home to give me some hope of getting some work! 
  6. Progress is horribly stifled by my job… Working 45 hours a week gives me precious little time, and with my girlfriend working 50 hours a week, any spare time it’s nice to see her, but then I feel guilty that I’m not getting the work done! That’s just life though, I shalnt complain, and I’ll simply do what I can.
  7. Having a Twitter feed full of indie game devs is a huge boost of inspiration, seeing what can be achieved makes me want even more to have that for myself.

I’ve started work on a text based game in c++, to help me understand fundamentals. It’s a great way to learn, whilst still heading in the right direction of game design.

All in all, spirits are high. Motivation is strong and I’ve working my way through multiple tutorials, keeping my drawing up, and writing music, all of which should get me closer to a game design job In the distant future! 

In my next post I’ll have some concrete game development stuff to show, hopefully on my way to my first game!

Author: kanebrady1994

22 year old aspiring game designer from the UK, currently living in New Zealand

Leave a Reply

