BigBadBallGame Pt.2: BigBadBugs

A wise man once said:

‘Don’t code, it’s hard as shit, and unbelievably infuriating’

Wise words, wise man.

It’s going well, considering i’m still useless… The game is taking shape nicely, there have been a lot of changes in my mind as I’ve gone through the coding as to what I want the end product to be. This is due in part to what i’m capable of coding, and keeping my aspirations in check of what a first finished game should be able to achieve, considering the useless coder at the helm.

I’d like to upload some gifs and whatnot, but this stupid website won’t let me unless I pay.

I’m nearing what I guess I would call the mid stage of the basics of the game. The player’s paddle moves, interacts with the ball, which in turn interacts with the walls. There’s some basic AI going on, the opposition paddle will hit the ball back, and will chase powerups and all that good stuff.

Next on the agenda will be a score, menus, all the boring stuff that nobody gives a shit about but is super necessary.

And…

Oh My God the bugs. The coding part; getting the game objects to all interact and do the cool stuff, that’s fucking easy. Trying to figure out why seven paddles appear when the ball touches the wall at a funny angle, that’s shit.

I’m using a super easy game programming language, and can only imagine what hell is instore when I move on to Unity, but we all have to start somewhere, but debugging all these stupid problems is …. well, it’s super rewarding actually, when you find out what colon you’ve missed out, or what number should be a different number, or a letter, or not there at all, or in a different place, or in the same place but run at a different time, or.. yeah.

BUT soon, I will be doing the designs for all the paddles, balls, powerups, backgrounds (yay), cause I mean, how difficult can it be to design a ball, right?

In the mean time, take a look at some beautifully shit AI scripting.

 

secondballgamepic

mmmmmmm.

Author: kanebrady1994

22 year old aspiring game designer from the UK, currently living in New Zealand

Leave a Reply

